^
Art Primo Hobo Marker
Art Primo Hobo Marker
More Info

 
 
Art Primo HOBO markers are solidified paint stick markers which will write on the most amount of surfaces ... more▾ 

Reviews (74)  4.7 of 5 Stars!


Jojo3000 01/17/2014
Hey all, if you're thinking about getting a hobo marker than just go ahead and do it already!! I got 3 silvers 3 blacks and 1 yellow and so far the best seems to be the silver, mainly because of the smoothness and because the silver really stands out the most on any surface. So far the hobo seems to be getting the job done, nicely done AP... Also I just wanna say thank you so much, I just ordered this on Tuesday and it's Friday today so the perfect day to come in the mail! Thanks again AP you guys rock keep these hobos in stock forever lol. - jojo  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Kahea79 09/15/2021
I forgot to add, I also mixed a baby pink Sakura in the mix(made a tri-color, a black/pink and a silver/pink) into some empty chapstick containers… waiting for them to cool off and the sun to go down, and cool off a bit… also the chapstick containers can keep in your pocket, don’t melt or color your pockets… plus if I get patted down, it looks like some fancy @$$ lip balm!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Kahea79 09/15/2021
Cheee! Ordered 2 black and 2 silver on Monday…came in on Wednesday!!(I live in hawaii, so thank you for the quick turn around!)
Melted a silver and black in to a chapstick container(took the chapstick out this time, not gonna make that mistake again), the silver makes he black easier to write with… plus having a cap on the container helps keep the “skin” from forming as fast!! It’s a thing of beauty… I think the silver makes my tags look 1000 times better!! Mahalo nui loa, AP! Y’all rock, son!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Anonymous Guy 06/23/2021
The silver is buttery AF. You're not going to get a hard line with one but if it rains where you live these are great because it will write under water. Also you will break this thing, don't trip, just rock some gloves and go get that dumpster.  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Kozi 06/22/2021
How are these better than Markals? Just curious, love art primo for supplying artists.  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

DRANK 05/10/2021
silver is butter
  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Yaru 02/25/2021
Meh, Not the best but it does write.  3 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

BallsMcgrobbit 12/02/2020
5 stars - es bilingue  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

ppsmallZ 10/01/2020
as a homeless person i can attest that these and a can of duster to sip on goes great with moving locomotives  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Nick 08/05/2020
I got the red in a holiday essentials pack. not for me for sure. very hard and brittle and breaks into chunks throughout use. I imagine this would be very good for frieght train tagging, but thats not my bizz so i cant relate. although, this is not a complete review, because i only tried the red. im absolutly positive that the black and silver are a million times better. im gonna order them and ill do another review once ive tried them.  3 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Graditude 05/30/2020
Suburb competition to Markal. Helps to carry these in a baggie.

Back when I was buying gas $6 at a time, I'd buy these markers and melt them down to pour into a empty Ganko marker body. GR posted a video guide on this where he fills a twist-up deodorant. If you're considering filling chap-stick, glue-stick tubes, really any twist up container, it might help to have a layer of solid already in the bottom. Some container's plastic part that pushes that pushes the solid is perforated, such that paint will drip through and possibly seize the twisting mechanism.

Melt different colors together for a custom color! Beast mode: cut a piece of cardstock to slide down the barrel, or whatever you intend to fill with the melted paint, dividing it in two. Pour separate colors on either side for a split-free multi-color streaker. boom just gave ya that one for free

.....What?

These do crust after a day or two, a thin layer which needs pealing or a good scratch on a rough surface. Silver is cool. The last bit might be tough to use, but fun to smear around with a glove. Impressive product of great value! If you want something a little less messy, for a few extra dollars snag an AP Solid Paint Marker  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

GASP23 08/25/2019
I've tried white, black, blue, and silver.

Compared to AP and sakura solid markers, these are more dense, and require a little more pressure when writing. However, they can still get great results. The lack of a plastic body and cap is inconvenient, but also a large part of why these are half the price of other solid markers. You will want a small plastic bag or tube to put this in, or else you are going to make a horrible mess of whatever pocket you put this marker into. I find that these do better on wet surfaces than other streakers. These develop a skin on the outside, and you need to peel it off before it will write. You can peel it off with your fingers (a bit more reliable) or rub it on a rough surface to scrape it off. The skin will come back after a day or two of not using it, and you just need to peel again.

I definitely recommend them if you're looking for a cheap alternative to ap/sakura solid markers or if you want better performance on wet surfaces.

I give a 4/5 because it is definitely not as convenient to use as other solid markers, but it is still great for what it is.  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Müst¥ 07/11/2019
What can I say man, this is hands down the best streaker out there. And it’s only $2! Great product AP  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

GURP-MAN 05/06/2019
A must have streaker, its not the cleanest but it can write on ((anything)).
The silver is the MF sh*t. They do tend to snap in two but not a problem.
A daily carry. Stop reading this and buy one already!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

welpNCB 10/15/2018
Just picked up 6 of these to try out. Didn't realize they don't with a cap, so they are similar to a Markal. To remove the condom that they come with, just use a box cutter or razor blade of some sort with gloves on and you're good.

I melt mine down into chapstick containers and they work perfectly. Nice stealth streak that can write on any surface in any weather condition.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

dvck 08/24/2018
i'm not a fan.

I may have gotten the wrong color (red doesn't show up well on any surface that isn't white or yellow), but I have been disappointed with this marker. It's worth a shot for the money, but save them for the train.

I've already thrown mine away.  2 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

NoNoNe ThE GoD 07/13/2018
so I got the silver hobo thing shines nice and will write on anything and is super smooth amazing bang for your buck you cant beet it  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

AZUKISM 05/02/2018
What can i say that other people haven't? Theyre smooth, (not as smooth as the ap streak but still good) theyre bright, and they write on wet sh*t. Cop the silver, because that seems to be the best color the have. Its soooo butter, even more than the other colors. Another high quality product from ap.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

skunk3 03/14/2018
So I bought one of the silver hobo markers based upon recommendations here in the reviews. For $3 I'd say it is totally worth it. It is not as smooth / buttery as the AP streakers but it's silver, and it is smoother than the other hobo markers IMO... it's a pretty decent silver too. From far away it just looks gray but if you get close and have light shining on it at the right angle it's about on par with typical silver paint. The advantage to this vs. simply using a small mop with some silver paint is that it has no smell and you don't gotta worry about leaks. The main complaint that I have about it is the annoying scab that you have to peel off every time you wanna use it, because as far as I know there's no easy way of getting it off, and you end up with silver fingers unless you're wearing gloves. My fingers are silver as I type this. Overall I am going to give this product a 4 out of 5 stars due having to deal with the annoying scab and also due to the fact that these don't have a cap of any sort so if you carry it in your pocket you're gonna get everything in there silver unless you keep it in a little ziploc bag.  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

DIACREW 02/23/2018
Silver is the best no doubt. Got a black and silver and the black is much less greasy than the silver. Both write very well in the rain and on wet surfaces.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

el_chupahueso 02/13/2018
Dude. Seriously, DUDE. What can i say about these babies that hasn't already been said? Oh yeah, after you remove that scab from the marker, you can pretty easily melt the stuff into say... an empty glue stick. :) I did it with a black and silver hobo and it's writes like a mofo. As for melting the stuff, sadly the melting point is above boiling water temp, so i had to use a heat gun to do it. be aware, the stuff stinks. So do it in a WELL VENTILATED area. I also melted it in a soda can that I then used to pour it into the glue stick. All in all it took me maybe 20 minutes to manufacture this guy. But the best part is, no scab. I just remove the cap and write.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

MrA411 12/01/2017
All I can say is that Silver is off the CHAINS!!

GET YOURSELF SOME SILVER! GET YOURSELF THAT SILVER! SILVER! SILVER! SILVER!

It puts any other of these "hobo's" or Markal colors to shame!!

It's a dollar something more than the other colors listed, and worth EVERY cent!

It lives up to the hype and then some!!!
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Bobby Hampton 11/30/2017
Silver hobo marker kills. These suckers really will write on anything. You can write on a rusty crusty metal Barrel with an inch of water pooled up on the lid. These things will cut right through and stick to the surface. The only condition that they don't work great in is smooth surfaces during a heavy downpour. They still write, but smooth metal or Glass that is very wet doesn't have enough friction to really smear the stick. Still works tho. I will admit that this is my least favorite Streaker on a dry day, but the fact that they cut through water makes them a crucial piece of my kit.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Coma 11/07/2017
Tried these out for the first time and they write great! Definitely would buy this again!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

@leak_ck instagram 10/04/2017
Eh... they are amazing for their price.... AND they smell very nice? like rice or something...  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

OverDose713 09/13/2017
Silver one is a beast all time favorite  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

ill4real 05/18/2017
Scooped a Black and a White one, can't beat it for the price. I shoulda scooped a silver one tho  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Crez 04/23/2017
Bought a white one of these a while back. I used it quite frequently and I have to say I love it. This thing literally writes on anything. I once wrote on an oily rusted piece of metal and it worked perfectly. Its kinda annoying picking the scab off each time but for the price you cant go wrong.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Mario 02/06/2017
These hobo markers are dope for the price and its true the sliver is the best especially if youre balling on a budget, I copped 2 whites and 2 silver. The white is great for concrete it looks good and trust me when i say it does write on wet stuff!Especiall wet concrete!!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Rudeblunt29 01/26/2017
Love these hobo markers just got a white one last week & thinking of about getting 2more!!!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Velvet "Boogie" Edwards 11/09/2016
Smooth, creamy, and oh so shiny! The Silver is my favorite by far, i have to remember to not press so damn hard with it cause it's like butter that's shiny and made from paint. So don't sleep on these, or do so there's more for the rest of us.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Sale 04/05/2016
The silver specifically is my favorite, much softer than the others and the chrome is perfect, shiny and SMOOTH goes on like butter, stays up even after the buff somehow, that is if the buff man only uses paint... Chemical normally takes it off over all 10/10!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

KA5H 03/18/2016
These are tight,silver is the best,after that white,the red turns to pink real fast out in the sun,yellow and blue fade also,but red does the worst,my opinion,get a silver or a white one and go hit up every telephone pole you walk by and you wont be disappointed,just be sure to get that cover layer off before your next tag and you will be good to go.  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Soze 02/08/2016
These sh*ts write on EVERYTHING! Wet, snowy, greasy, whatever. They are A BIT harder to write with than regular streaks, but they still work fine and are pretty buttery. THESE ARE AP'S VERSION OF THE MARKAL B PAINTSTCK! Silver is the best, because markal's don't come in silver. Otherwise, white is the best. Red and yellow are decent as well.  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

whynot152 12/24/2015
Love these bought a five pack and I carry one with me at all times. Can't really split these but for the price you can't beat it.  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Mrgrayfox 12/07/2015
They are good markers. I had one chip when ordered but I don't care it almost reminds me of a "pastal stick" it has a smooth texture depending on surface. Got the red and black. A++++++  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Enoch11 08/24/2015
Got the silver and white pretty damn good!!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Gucci Mane 05/23/2015
All in all these things are the sh*t sakuras are cool but for someone like me who has a heavy hand these are the way to go I kill sakuras too fast but with these you can press down harder and it won't waste as fast. Only downer is having to scrape off the hard paint when you're gonna use it and you can't drop it at all or it'll break... seriously  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Boi 02/11/2015
Got the yellow and I'm pretty satisfied. Writes smooth. Just press harder if you don't get opaque lines. Overall fun marker. Don't carry it in the same pocket as your phone or wallet. Or just use a zip lock bag.  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

EnjoyTheDecline 01/10/2015
Grabbed some of these when they were on sale.
Definitely a good budget streak.

Yer friends will love em, if you give them one of these.
Meanwhile, you can rock a 4 color Sakura Solid and make them wanna step their game up.

Put yer gawdamn name up!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

SeaTownSavage 05/30/2014
Pretty much just like the Markal B but I think this dries faster. Good stuff  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

LES 03/20/2014
My first marker and I'm loving it so far. Got just one marker to test things with, will most likely buy more in the future. I got blue, it writes pretty well, very smooth and clean. I've been hearing silver is the best, so will most likely pick that up with another blue. The markers are $2, but they write like they should cost $4, so it's definitely worth your money.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Anonymous 01/31/2014
these are the sh*t. they are extremely affordable, they work on wet sh*t and they are less streaky than markals. I got blue black and silver, silver is the dopest marker u can get, I tried black and was really impressed on how much smoother it writes than markals. u wont be dissaponted  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

neso 01/28/2014
these are dope for only 2 dollars, like a cheap sakura, get the silver!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Arba7 01/24/2014
I just coped me a silver and a black. The black is pretty dope... But the SILVER!!! Killer! DEFINITELY GET NASTY AS f*ck WITH THE SILVER. I took the sh*t on some dusty @$$ train cars and those black oil tankers... sh*t POPPED! Really nice flow. I love the Raw-ness. But one problem... I don't understand why charge more for the silver....? Does it cost more to produce? Its obviously the most popular, and if you lowered the price to 1.83 i'd definitely cop like 20 or 30 of those f*ckin things. The black is pretty dope too. The hobo's are definitely a fav.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Save5Pointz 01/15/2014
Its a OKAY marker! not the best but its better on metal and i like to use it to tag on stop signs in the rain  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Jer 12/12/2013
Get sliver !  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Carter 11/27/2013
I got the white one time and in my latest order I got the silver. The white was just okay and wasn't very smooth, nothing special. But the silver... PURE BUTTER. It writes smoothly, is very shiny, and highly pigmented. I was even able to cut off some of the hobo and stuff it into an empty chap stick body (because I'm always schemin') for extra low key action and it actually worked. Over all very dope, get a silver (and silver only) and go hit some freights and greasy dumpsters because these do write on anything after all.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Sneer |Eon Crew| 11/04/2013
havent had these but my friend has... but ive had markal... anyway, these are amazing colors are great, writes on anything... (BETTER ON ROUGH SURFACES SO ITS HARDER TO BUFF ) but write amazing on smooth alson, just easier to buff... remeber they take like 2 days to completely dry so dont pick a spot where its gonna get buffed right away!  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

NotBeforeDinner 08/23/2013
GET THE SILVER JOTO  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

519booster 07/19/2013
This streak is one of the best in my opinion. the best would have to be the silver its bomb by far better then the markal silver imo
and these were made for writers not like markal so support your shops !!! -fead 21  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Fenix 05/20/2013
As my first Hobo, I bought a blue one, and I am incredibly impressed with the value. At the price it is, the paint lasts a good long time, leaves a mean streak, holds great lines at an edge, and honest to goodness, just like the label says, writes through wet and dirt. I'm surprised Blue doesn't get the credit it deserves, I LOVE it. The next one I'm buying will be silver, so I'll see how that goes.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

MysteryKoolAid 03/16/2013
I know I did a review for the pack. But I want to do one just for each separate color.
Blue. It was good. Streaks. Ehh. Lasting. Pretty long. Overall Use. I used it twice but I gave it to a close friend for his use.
Black. I INTRODUCE THE DESTROYER. Who tends to get messy.VERY.
Red. This one looks good. But had like a faded opaque look. Like it was a ghost of The Red Baron. Thou shall feel its wrath. Overall. 4/5
White. MEET THE DESTROYERS' WIFE PMSING. This one wasn't messy like Black.
Yellow. This one I liked. Good on Transformers(Ya im talking about Optimus Prime.No okay actually the things that powers a block or two.)
Silver.....Sadly I haven't used it.
Overall Black White and Red is my top three. Go destroy some things with these hobos.
Also on note these are 1.83. Thats basically chump change.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

doobersnoot 03/10/2013
Better and cheaper than shiva. wish there was some brown action going on but the primaries are as dope as any color could be. buy buy buy.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

cester4 02/24/2013
these hobo markers are real slick. copped the white and im really feeling it, great price too. they do take a night to dry though, keep that in mind. love em and im gonna get more soon.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

TOY ;) 02/18/2013
OMG!!! you should see the drips on these. These babies drip more than your mother. i bought the silver one. Amazing on black mailboxes. once the dry, good luck getting it off. (obviously the dripping thing waas a joke lol). bad thing is that there should be a way to push them up. i have to rip part of the body to get more paint. :/ all in all it's a bad-@$$ marker. definately get the silver. (obviously the dripping thing waas a joke lol).  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

MosaOne 02/11/2013
Once upon a time I received a red AP Hobo as a gift and proceeded to test it in my usual fashion, what I discovered was not buttery red goodness, but low pigment sadness. The color refused to show on any surface that wasn't white or beige, and was very hard, not buttery at all. I searched the land far and wide for reviews to see if I had just gotten a bad one of the bunch and discovered that the red maker in particular tends to kinda suck. Fear not however! The silver I recently ordered is more buttery than my popcorn at the movies, although admittedly less salty. The color shines through on any surface and its beautiful. I suppose the moral of the story is, buy the silver AP Hobo and for the rest of the colors pick up a or an AP Solid Marker. My 5/5 is for silver, the red gets a 2/5.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Wees 01/09/2013
They are pretty good , i like them but i would highly suggest the AP solid for 2$ more because they have no top so the paint on top get really hard and you always have to break it ... But they are the best for the price and the silver one is pretty dope
Btw im french so my english is not perfect  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Vane 11/29/2012
So you have decided to become a baller on a budget huh?

well look no further my good friends

there comes a time in every writers life where we sacrifice and cutback our graffiti budget and no longer indulge in the expensive stuff

well if you still wanna look balling while saving cash the hobo markers got you covered

they dont fade at all but im on the fence about red

for the youtube babies who complain about things being buff proof...its paint so dont ask anymore its not going to stain

for your moneys worth id suggest the black and silver combo as it allows you to write on light and dark surfaces

as for writing id say a mix of junobo scrawler and markal...junobo but less gay and markal but more smooth  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Sun 11/14/2012
these are really great if your worried about getting caught they'll work on just about anything and are always fast and reliable. Honestly if there on a smooth surface they slide like butter but they also give a nice solid line. I see that some people say there messy but honestly from my experience i'v never had that problem.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Anonymous 10/22/2012
silver ones the sh*t!! i got red and yellow to they all work good in wet conditions.  3 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

king of toys 10/18/2012
Really good for the price i would recommend it to anyone  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Addicted2bombin 10/09/2012
Dope dope dope.. Ap really brought the heat with these!! Great quality streaks.. Be sure to take the film covering off before you use this and store it in a bag (could get messy at times). Buy a bunch cuz you willll love these.. Silver is Illin snag that one for sure..
And remember GET UP!!!  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

KaB 09/28/2012
These markers......are f****** phenomenal! First off, they're cheap as dirt. Seriously, $1.83? I can find that in spare change in my car. Don't be surprised if you run out fast though, cause you'll fall in love with these things. My only suggestion for these markers would be to find an easier way to get the coating on the outside off (Rubber-ish like substance, can't tell what it is exactly). But once you get it off, goes on like butter. The black is my favorite out of the 3 I purchased so far (Blue, White, Black). Takes a little bit to dry, but once it does it stays on pretty damn well. Will probably try the Art Primo Solid Markers next time, since they have a better container, and are better then Sakuras from the reviews I've read (I keep these in a ziplock, tend to get kinda messy).  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Popeone 09/17/2012
I got some of these from uprok my local shop and for the price you could become a hobo and still buy these. they totally and completely smash sh*t. Extra permanent, your a pain in the @$$ for the buff crew cause when you get one of these babies you will go out and kill sh*t ever single night and with how durable and weatherproof they are you will spot your tags from months back plus the silver is like a mirror and the black is like staring into an endless pit even after the snow rain and sun wreck everything else you have up these tags are still alive and well... Get a ton or when you run out you will be a very sad hobo  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

scribe 08/19/2012
I was pleasently suprised as to how good these are. Goes on like butter, but not like melted jello butter that'll smash in your pocket. Although that's all good, their most impressive aspect is the look. Black does. not. fade. Or crack, dry out, or splinter. The silver holds its opacity, and looks like a mirror even after a month of rain and a month of snow. Only problem is keeping it in the little bag and this will dust your fingers pretty good. But the price literally can't be beat, scoop more than one, and enjoy  4 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

CAS-Alb 07/18/2012
You can't beat these. Goes on smoother than a Markal and it's cheap enough to buy a handful every time you order. So buy a handful every time you order from AP.  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Police Academy Headmaster 07/16/2012
I like these markers a lot, get the black , but get more silver. This stuff takes a while to dry , but it looks pretty good in the end and writes smoothly except on brick or fences with chipping paint. The black is good for the price, but when presented with a choice between a silver hobo and a silver markal, GET THE HOBO, it's a waaaay nicer silver. Get up a lot though cuz this stuff can be removed super easily  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

NEBULAR ONE 06/01/2012
Ordered a few black ,i have to say im impressed for the price .... they are better than markal

great shipping to  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Range 05/22/2012
Cool  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

DASIN 05/08/2012
I picked up the silver hobo , and this streak is as flossy as a can of beans the silver blings like a 10k diamond. It is Extreamly durable when used against those rough surfaces. Not as sensitive as a Sakura. This is for big boys who like to play rough, on the streets. Your practically robbing A.P. With the price their selling it for, so get your @$$ to the out side of a 7-11 store and start begging for chump change in a cup homie !!!!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Obamamama 04/30/2012
These puppies are smoooooth. More so than a markal, but not quite a sakura. Can cake up at times. These will run out fast becuase they'll be your favorites!! Worth the price! Get em both! Nothing is safe!!!!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

rahrahrah 04/10/2012
I just got this marker today. It writes so smooth on everything and that silver just blings. Keep it in a zip-lock bag for clean storage. Its a perfect consistency; creamier then a markal but not as much as a sakura. I wish i would have bought more!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?  

Anonymous 03/04/2012
great industrial marker! very bold and writes smooth, highly recomend!  5 of 5 Stars!
helpful?